The Shadow of What Was Lost

The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1
Author: 
James Islington
2017
The Shadow of What Was Lost: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 1

A young man with forbidden magic finds himself drawn into an ancient war against a dangerous enemy in book one of the Licanius Trilogy, the series that fans are heralding as the next Wheel of Time.

As destiny calls, a journey begins.

It has been twenty years since the godlike Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them -- the Gifted -- are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he and his friends Wirr and Asha set into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is. . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy is a series readers will have a hard time putting down -- a relentless coming-of-age epic from the very first page.

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."" -- Guardian

This fantasy book is listed in Best Fantasy Book Series   Young Adult Fantasy Books  

Haven't found what you were looking for with 'The Shadow of What Was Lost'?

There are many more excellent fantasy books to discover on the site.

For example, we have extensive top 10 lists of fantasy books for adults, Young Adult fantasy books and the best fantasy book series. If you look through these lists, you will surely find a good fantasy book to read. Perhaps your new favorite fantasy book!